Departure building

It’s one of the oldest building in the puszta (it’s like prairie/flat or slightly hilly area), which was already found on the map from the end of 18th century. According to the explanatory appendix of the cadastral map from 1860, a gardener lived in this building with his family in the 19th century, who took care of the fruit trees. After the reconstruction the cash desk can be found in the departure building in the entrance of the manor.

The small castle

The most prominent of the residential buildings in Szántódpuszta is the manor house, a mansion, that earlier the servants called castle – The small castle is located at the entrance of the manor.

In this building there is an interactive exhibiton, that tells us about the history of Szántódpuszta. With the help of this complex exhibition space you can not only learn about the history of Szántódpuszta, but also about the life of servants, who had lived here. One of this two programmes is a historical timeline, which gives information on the main milestones of the manor’s life through the hall.

During this exhibition visitors get to see the first mention of Szántódpuszta in the memorandum of association of Tihany, the impact of turkish times and the depopulation, abbots’ workdays in Tihany and the steps of manor growth. The goal of the timeline is to illustrate the historicity of Szántódpuszta in main points, but also in context with the country’s historical events.

The other main theme of the exhibition show’s us the life of the servents that worked here. The seasonal variation of agricultural work determined the everyday life. The exhibition aims to parallel this seasonal cycle with the human life stages (spring-infancy; summer-youth; autumn-adulthood; winter-aging) and through these metaphores a servant’s life.

Besides of the above mentioned exhibitions, the visitors can also get some information about the history of Tihany-Szántód port, which was built at the natural narrowing of Lake Balaton. It has belonged to the Abbey of Tihany, because the Abbey had lands on both side. This crossing point was used for passenger and goods transfer too. The abbey’s ferrymen transported agricultural crops, grain, and corn from the south, wine, and stone from the north.

The history of the Balatonendrédi Csipke (Balatonendrédi Lace) will be also introduced: “The idea of the balatonendrédi lace came from 2 reasons. One of them was, to make use from the free time woman had in winter without work. Besides, this activity kept the woman of the village close, so that the Reformed faith could spread.

Through the modern art installation in the building, visitors can also get to know the work of Péter Szentmihályi Szabó.

In addition to the building, a room for museumpedagogie was also built.

No. 3. Ménescsárda (a type/traditional hungarian restaurant)

The Ménescsárda is located straight across the small castle. In the early 1970s from it’s former use as a servant’s house, the building was rebuilt to function as a restraurant called Ménescsárda. The inspiration for the restaurant’s name came from the new stud farm, which took place at Szántódpuszta at that time and as mentioned in the memorandum of association of Tihany, I. András placed 39. stallions here. Currently in this building you can find a souvenir shop, a first-aid station and also a bike fixing station. The showroom of folkcrafts is located behind the building.

No.4. Well

People and animals, who lived here, couldn’t miss the well with abundant and good water. In former times the water supply was ensured by seven wells with different water lifting techniques. Two of them were made of cast iron, these were used to water the flower and vegetable garden of the smal castle. The needs of people and animals were met by shadoof and draw wells.The unique well in manor has been rebuilt to its original state.

No.7. Granary

In the granary you can find the “wheat’s way” interactive exhibition. Once, wheat was life itself, That’s what the people called the life, the wheat that gave bread. Growing wheat has provided the self-sufficiency of peasant households and their need of bread. The acient knowledge of growing whey, and baking peasantbread has disappeared. Guests get to know about this knowledge during the exhibition.

No.8. Stable (for any pets)

The animal stable which was built in 1882, today awaits the visitors in its original form.

No.9. Oast

Former kitchen chimneys had open-air flue, which was cold and tight, because there was nothing inside to close the incoming air (in hungarian we say: “szabadkémény”). It was replaced by a chimney with spacious flue. In hungarian we call it “mászókémény”.
It was very popular in the region of Transdanubia that after this reconstraction people built wood fired bread ovens and smokehouse from bricks in the yard. In 1916, a wood fired oven made from large burnt bricks with cement on the top was built on a hill near the puszta. This oven was reconstructed within the framework of the project.

No.14. Barn

Tha barn standing on brick columns was built in 1850 and then in 1890 an additional part of the building was added at the southern side. As the stories tell this part of the building was made for machine shed, but the seniors -who lived in the manor- remember that it functioned as wheelwright’s workshop. As part of the project, an event space, a nursing room and showroom (blacksmith, wheelwright) were created in the building.

No.15. Stable

The largest L-shaped building on the southern side of the puszta is the former ox stable. Before the popularity of tractors and steam-engines, the number and physical strenght of your oxes was the tell if your agriculture was good, or sloppy. The stable that was home to 56 oxes, showed that Szántód was important in agriculture.

The building is currently functioning as a horse stable, where guests can meet horses and read some informative wall panels presenting the hungarian horse breeds.

Öregcsárda (old restaurant)

This L-shaped residential house, which is one of the most beautiful building in the puszta according to its architectural style. It was first mentioned in a memorandum from 1790. Its currently funcioning as a restaurant.

No.21. Exhibition space

In the southeast direction from the craftsmen’s house a building was built in 1845, where the handcraft workshop for agriculture was located. Like other building in the puszta, this one was also from large firebricks, the excellent quality wood, that te roof was built from, was provided by the local forest. 3 workshops (blacksmith, wheelwright and carpenter) operated here.

In building no.21. a temporary exhibition space took place, where the traditions of Szántódpuszta can be inherited, and a constantly renewable exibithion can welcome the guest. This venue provides suitable place for artists working local or in the region.

No.25. Wood fired oven

We know from stories of people who lived in Szántódpuszta, that the servants usually baked two breads every week, but if a family had more members then it was necessary to bake it more often. Visitors can get acquainted with process of baking of bread during the outdoor wall panels at the wood fired oven.

No.30. Pony stable

The small brick stable built in 1825. Prior in the 1800s there was (also) a building in it’s place, which maybe was made of non-persistent building material, but it also aimed to keep animals. Currently here takes place a petting zoo.